New Employment Laws in 2021
As of January 1, 2021, numerous new employment laws will go/ have gone into effect. It will be important to keep up to date on these as they are constantly changing. We broke down important updates that employers should be aware of heading into the new year.
- SB1159 – Reporting positive COVID-19 cases to workers comp carriers (California only)
- COVID-19 sick pay – Employers with more than 500 employees need to pay employees 80 hours of sick time if the EE is required to leave home for work. 80 hours are front-loaded, and available balance needs to be shown on pay records. https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/FAQ-for-PSL.html
- CA Sexual harassment training – All employees need to complete at least one hour of training by 1/1/2021 and supervisors need to complete 2 hours by 1/1/2021.
- Minimum Wage – The minimum wage for Federal contract workers increased to 10.95/hr. 25 states are raising their minimum wage in 2021. Those states include Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia and Washington. https://www.laborlawcenter.com/state-minimum-wage-rates/
Employment laws are constantly changing, and we should see additional changes happening throughout 2021. It will be important for employers to be aware of the changes and adjust handbooks and policies accordingly. Continue to check back in with us as we will update with any new changes that come into effect this year.